Academia Barilla Issues List of Rules For Foreigners to Follow

Academia Barilla Issues List of Rules For Foreigners to Follow

It’s always best to be culturally cognizant when traveling, or even entertaining foreign visitors. Here’s a great article by The Independent that highlights some serious no-no’s in Italian culinary culture. A few more I might add:

1) A cappuccino is not meant to be drunk after 12pm. If you do, it’s because you’re foreign.

2) My (Italian) friend Irene drinks her espresso without sugar after one of her ex-boyfriends got her in the habit. “He always said that it bastardized the taste of the coffee.” Now, because of you, my darling, I drink my coffee black.

3) Savory things for breakfast is a very foreign concept. For a year in Bologna, I had a singular croissant with honey on it for breakfast, and I spent the rest of the morning sustained by coffee until lunchtime rolled around and I gorged myself on pasta.

Leave a Reply

